Chelsea team news: Mason Mount and Tammy Abraham start in Frank Lampard’s first Premier League XI against Manchester United


By Michael Benson

11th August 2019,
3:44 pm

Updated: 11th August 2019,
3:45 pm

Mason Mount and Tammy Abraham both start for Chelsea in their Premier League opener at Manchester United on Sunday.

Frank Lampard has selected a youthful side for his first competitive game in charge, which threatens to be a baptism of fire at Old Trafford.

Tammy Abraham found the net in pre-season


Tammy Abraham found the net in pre-season

Lampard managed Mount at Derby last season


Lampard managed Mount at Derby last season

As expected, Kepa Arrizabalaga starts in goal for the Blues with veteran stopper Willy Cabellero on the bench.

Following the departure of David Luiz to Arsenal, Kurt Zouma and Andreas Christensen head up the defence, flanked by Cesar Azpilicueta at right-back and Emerson who gets the nod over Marcos Alonso on the left side.

In midfield, Jorginho, Ross Barkley and Mateo Kovacic appear – with N’Golo Kante benched as he continued his recovery from injury.

But the main news is that up front Pedro Rodriguez and 20-year-old Mason Mount sit either side of 21-year-old Tammy Abraham as Lampard looks to revolutionise Chelsea’s attitude to youth.


Manchester United team news: Two summer signings make debuts against Chelsea


Mourinho on team who can challenge for the title – not Arsenal or Man United


Jose Mourinho reveals what appointing Frank Lampard as manager has done


Three key battles when Manchester United play Chelsea at Old Trafford

team news

How Man United and Chelsea could line-up with new signings set to feature

right direction

Man United ‘stronger, fitter and hungrier,’ Rio Ferdinand warns rivals


The Chelsea fan who wet himself because of Maldini and likes Anfield


Every Premier League club’s summer transfer business rated


Alisson set for scan today as Klopp rules him out of Super Cup


Watch as Cesc Fabregas is sent off 30 minutes into first game of season


‘Defenders aren’t ready’ – Man United confirm new No.9 and fans are ecstatic

lucky number seven

Eden Hazard given new Real Madrid number – but some fans are not happy

Chelsea XI: Kepa, Azpilicueta, Zouma, Christensen, Emerson, Jorginho, Barkley, Kovacic, Mount, Pedro, Abraham.

Subs: Caballero, Alonso, Kante, Kenedy, Giroud, Pulisic, Tomori.

Like it? Share with your friends!



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *