VAR denies Real Madrid star Gareth Bale spectacular goal against Paris Saint-Germain


0
ruled out


By Sean O’Brien

18th September 2019,
9:19 pm

Gareth Bale had a sensational Champions League goal taken away from him by VAR during Real Madrid’s clash with Paris Saint-Germain.

With Los Blancos trailing 2-0, the Welshman thought he had offered the visitors a route back into the game when he juggled the ball and lobbed Keylor Navas from the edge of the box.

The ball brushed Bale’s arm before he lobbed Navas

BT Sport

The ball brushed Bale’s arm before he lobbed Navas

However, replays showed the ball brushed his hand before he pulled the trigger, giving referee Anthony Taylor no choice but to chalk the goal off.

Under current handball regulations, any contact between the ball and an attacker’s hand in the moments leading up to a goal will see the strike ruled out.

The rule has caused controversy, and Bale’s disallowed strike represents another argument against it.

game on


Shakhtar Donetsk vs Man City commentary: Mahrez and Gundogan put City in control

modest


Scholes insists beautiful pass in Kompany’s testimonial was ‘lucky’

showpiece


PSG vs Real Madrid commentary: Di Maria at the double in Champions League clash

positive


Mason Mount scan gives Chelsea huge boost for Liverpool clash

good news


Neymar has three-match Champions League ban reduced after CAS appeal

spoils shared


Olympiakos claim deserved draw with Spurs in Champions League opener

tune in


Olympiakos vs Tottenham commentary: Spurs let lead slip in Champions League opener

makeshift


Guardiola picks midfielder at centre-back against Shakhtar amid defensive crisis

There was no intention from the winger and the use of his hand had no bearing on the goal, but with the laws as they are, fans were robbed of a moment of brilliance.

Gary Lineker, working as a pundit for BT Sport, said at half-time: “I wish they went back to the old way, where they say whether it’s intentional or not. This is robbing us of goals.”

Madrid found themselves two goals down the the French champions after two goals from their former star Angel di Maria.

Thibaut Courtois will no doubt feel he could’ve done better with the first, which flashed past the goalkeeper at his near post, but there was nothing he could do about the second.

Clinton Morrison on Serie A not punishing Cagliari over Romelu Lukaku racism


Like it? Share with your friends!

0

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *